Heritage International School

I had school today. I am definitely in the swing of things at school now. I have been in my job for three months now and have learned to some extent how most of my students learn best and how my relationship with the administration functions.
For the most part, our administration is pretty hands off, so I have a lot of freedom in what I can cover in my class. We have books for all subjects, but I can pick and choose supplementary activities.
My kids are learning proper compound sentences now. I am trying to encourage them and push them with their writing. Even though I am intended to teach them everything, writing, reading comprehension and textual analysis are my favorite things to do with my students. They are making progress, and it is fun to see.
My students are definitely challenging at times but with most students we have an understanding of classroom expectations. I expect them to give their best effort in class every day. I have been challenging them a lot the last week or so, so I made a point to acknowledge their progress. I think adding more praise, in a genuine and non-patronizing way will be helpful. I have frustrations for sure, but it is helpful to step back and think even if the day was rough at least one of my kids learned something new. I am okay with that ending to a day.

Leave a Reply

